Mountains to Sound Greenway is the nation’s newest National Heritage Area!

After eight years of tireless advocacy, the Mountains to Sound Greenway has become our nation’s newest National Heritage Area!

The Mountains to Sound Greenway National Heritage Area proudly joins 54 other NHA sites in 32 states, including iconic and historic landscapes such as New York’s Niagara Falls, Mississippi’s Gulf Coast, and North Carolina’s Blue Ridge National Heritage Area. National Heritage Areas are places designated by Congress where historic, cultural, and natural resources combine to form cohesive, nationally important landscapes.

As our communities undergo massive growth, this designation gifts us new opportunities to more effectively conserve natural resources, protect our cultural heritage, and contribute to the economic vitality of the region. Specifically, it will help us to:

  • Amplify our rich history and natural heritage on a national stage

  • Increase visibility for the Greenway’s communities through an enhanced sense of place and importance

  • Encourage ecological restoration across multiple jurisdictions and watersheds

  • Grow funding opportunities through private and public partnerships

  • Promote regional tourism and attract new economic opportunities

Designation as a National Heritage Area requires an act of Congress.  The Greenway National Heritage Area legislation was originally introduced in 2013 by U.S. Representatives Dave Reichert and Adam Smith and Senators Maria Cantwell and Patty Murray. And it would not have been possible without the entire congressional delegation’s persistence and collaboration, including U.S. Representatives Suzan DelBene, Pramila Jayapal, and Kim Schrier.